Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB)

CACB_logoThe CACB receives its mandate from the Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities (CALA) and the Canadian Council of University Schools of Architecture (CCUSA) to administer the following Programs:

• Certification of educational qualifications of individual architectural graduates (Certification Program);
• Accreditation of professional programs in the Canadian University Schools of     Architecture (Accreditation Program); and
• Certification of professional qualifications of Broadly Experienced Foreign Architects (BEFA Program)

Broadly Experienced Foreign Architect (BEFA) Certification 

The Broadly Experienced Foreign Architect (BEFA) Program streamlines the process for foreign-licenced architects to become certified for licensure/registration in Canada. It is a bilingual program developed by the eleven Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities (CALA).

The BEFA program assesses broadly based experience of foreign architects against Pan-Canadian standards of competency for practice in Canada.

Foreign architects who meet the Program eligibility requirements can apply for BEFA Certification through a process which consists of an on-line self-assessment and an interview with licensed architects.

For more information on BEFA

Canadian Architectural Certification Board (CACB)
710 – 1 Nicholas St
Ottawa ON K1N 7B7
Tel.:(613) 241-8399
Fax: (613) 241-7991